Dying my Hair Pink! (DIY and Social Experiment)

German version of this post is this video:

 

If you follow me on Instagram (@new_honesty), you may have seen some crazy hair color changes for the last couple of posts. Once every year or so I get the feeling that I wanna change my hair. This time I thought it would be interesting to take the most striking color. That’s why I decided to dye my hair pink as a social experiment. I was really excited to see how people would react to it! While I think that pastel pink can look really good, pink wouldn’t usually be my first choice.

To make this social experiment happen, I first had to get my hair cut. Since I already knew that getting the hair professionally dyed is quite expensive, I decided to be a thrifty bitch and rather do it myself. What could go wrong…?

IMG_0037.JPG
All the stuff I needed minus the laundry detergent in the back.

Getting pink hair is a two-step process. First you should lighten your hair color (and ruin the hair structure) with hydrogen. After having that devil mixture burning your scalp away for 45 minutes, you can put in the pink hair dye which will take about 15 minutes to develop. The color I chose is called ‘Flamingo Pink’ and is produced by Directions.

I had help from a friend in the whole process… Getting the hair on the back would have been difficult! After playing Wipeout for 45 minutes, I washed out the hydrogen mix and looked like H. P. Baxxter from Scooter. No turning back now! Directions hair dyes are easy to use. Basically, Directions, come in putty consistency that you massage into your hair with your hands (in gloves, of course). Directions then build a layer of color upon your natural hair.

IMG_0054
You better work, hydrogen!

When I washed out the hair dye I was shocked at first! The color was really intense (even more than expected) and extreme, obviously. However, I didn’t find it to be that bad. I could live with that on my face for the next week or so. And I looked forward to it washing out to pastel pink (that sadly didn’t really happen).

The real test of this social experiment was how other people would react to it. However, the most ‘intense’ reactions I got were some people staring or turning around. Some people reacted positively to it as I realized random people smiling at me. My work colleagues didn’t even say anything when they saw me. Later they told me that this was no more ‘extreme’ than when I had green hair. The same was the case with most of my friends, basically. To sum up, I have to say that I was positively surprised that I didn’t get lots of negative attention or comments. Everyone seemed to mind their own business, even if they didn’t like it. I guess that’s the best outcome I could’ve expected. Most importantly, having this crazy hair color made me more confident, that I could do anything I want to my own appearance – as long as I like it, nothing else matters!

So, if you’re thinking of getting a crazy hair color – do it! The world has probably never been more open to it! I myself however, decided to get rid of the pink hair after about two weeks and dyed the hair blonde again. What do you think looks better?

20245918_10209930621328719_5304707878115408592_n
Pink vs. unsaturated blonde

If you’re interested in the whole process of the video diary, you can check out the German video at the start of this post.

 

Suggested further reading:
Crazy Hair Life
Summer calls for crazy hair colors!
How dying my hair pink changed my life
Dying my hair pink

Leave a Reply

